Forum breadcrumbs - You are here:CommunityShow & Tell: Show & TellKilovault HAB
Please or Register to create posts and topics.

Kilovault HAB

I am an installer with two new HAB systems being commissioned.  They are identical systems two different client sites.

5 kw PV, (1) Schneider XW Pro, (2) Midnite Classic 150 charge controllers, (2) Kilovault HAB's.  No XW battery monitor, Classics have Whizbang Jr.

First system is commissioned and operational for two weeks now.  I am at the tweaking stage.  This is a grid tied system but not net metered.  Client wants to utilize HAB batteries 24 hours a day for critical loads and recharge during daylight. There is generator support if required.  This is in the Virgin Islands so rare we need geny support!

Question One, I am trying to optimize HAB, Classics and XW charging values.  Primary charging is DC (solar) but if a LBCO is reached I want AC charging from XW to kick in.  Also if batteries reach a value equal to perhaps 60% SOC as opposed to LBCO of maybe 48volts.  Since there is no XW battery monitor I am relying on the Classics whizbang jr but what about the HAB's SOC?  How smart are these batteries?  They do not want battery temperature monitoring so they must be reading something.

Short version, I would like to optimize HAB, XW and Classics for AC & DC charging while maintaining a minimum 60% SOC.  I have Load Shaving enabled in the XW to maximize the batteries and use the grid as a back up only on critical loads.  I just want to keep these new batteries healthy for a long time.